Archive | 8:23 pm

Alternative Me

26 Nov

People pressure me to feminise a bit more,they tell me to be a bit more girly,womanly,curvy…put on a more eye-candy appeal. Comb your hair! Put on some make-up! Try a weave sometime! Cinch that dress!

Just because I don’t always wear figure-fitting dresses or wear as much makeup or accessories as expected or giggle giddily at every dripping word(from the mouth)of an Alpha-male or swoon at his charm doesn’t make me less of a woman. Just because I refuse to conform to joining the race of Barbie-prototypes or squeeze into the picture-perfect frame doesn’t reduce my femininity. If I have to be so obviously feminine, doesn’t that indicate a struggle with my feminine identity?

Funny thing is,these pressures are aimed at making me more ‘male-friendly’. Come to think of it,if I do want to flaunt my femininity for male attention, that should be yet another reason for me to remain alternative me because,sincerely, I don’t want a boy coming all up in my space(lol!forgive my sister-girl speak). But seriously,being obviously feminine(or more aptly,’womanly’) will most likely attract a boy rather than a man because,truth is, boys see in graphics but a man sees in depths.

You see,a man has knowledge of things subtle and unassuming. He sees with depths into subtle hints. I believe that is all a man needs. With a boy,you will have to paint a picture in details for him to understand but a real man only needs you to breathe an idea and he understands the hidden depths.

Don’t get it twisted,I am all woman in all and beyond this twin-towered-slim-waisted-round-hipped masterpiece that is me but my femininity is beyond a gender thing,it is an essence I exude,an expression I communicate such that no garment or trinket can define it. And where ornaments will be of any relevance, I will rather wear the essence of the woman that is me than display designer labels…I’d rather be adorned in the ornaments of Proverbs 31:10 than showcase the glits of precious stones.

I am a multi-layered embodiment of God’s purpose in motion, a concentration of God-essence in expression. Fashion does not define me;fads and trends are too fickle to do justice to who I am. There is much too much to me than what the eyes see or what the eyes refuse to see. I choose not to live my life trying to impress…I will rather live to express the woman I am,that woman God has made me to be.

***
I am all the woman I can be
I am all the woman you choose to see
I am all the woman inside of me
I am strong
I am desirable
I am passionate
I am soft
I am warm
I am intense
I am sweet
I am true
I am deep
I am kind
I am intelligent
I am nurturing
I am rough
With character
Yes the character of my imperfections
I am not buffed and shiny from efforts at perfection
No, I wear my scars,deep with pride
Because I am all the woman that I have come to be.

***
This is dedicated to all the ladies out there who struggle with pressures,external and internal, yet,do not conform to being obviously female to own their womanhood…who challenge the norm and wear their womanhood inside out.

🙂

 

Shell

 

 

Be Kind Always

26 Nov

Kindness is a language of the heart
Understood by all
It knows no discrimination
It needs no interpretation
Because the heart knows what the heart holds
TowYourSea

I learnt this truth on my first international flight, sitting beside an old Iranian man. He could only manage to speak very broken English but I was somehow of some assistance to him during the flight. When we landed, he told me, in his broken English “I very happy to sit with you on this travel. You very good person“. I was warmed all over and very proud to have had the pleasure of sitting with such a sweet old man. I was most glad that somehow, i had sweetened his trip. I don’t know exactly what it was i did but that only goes to show that you might be unaware of what you do but your actions leave an impression on people around you.

Wherever you are, in familiar terrain or far away strange lands, try as much as you can to be kind without limits or discrimination. It contributes to making our world a better place.

Cheers!

 

IMG_18600330581100